The Wine-Dark Sea

The Wine-Dark Sea contains eight unsettling stories that explore protagonists' fears and desires, at once illogical and terrifying, and culminate in a disturbing and enigmatic ending. Aickman's "strange stories" (his preferred term for them) are a subtle exploration of psychological displacement and paranoia; his characters ordinary people that are gradually drawn into the darker recesses of their own minds. For fans of the horror genre, Robert Aickman is a must read.

01 - The Wine-Dark Sea

02 - The Trains

03 - Your Tiny Hand Is Frozen

04 - Growing Boys

05 - The Fetch

06 - The Inner Room

07 - Never Visit Venice

08 - Into the Wood